Currently, the President of UCLG is Carolina Cosse, Mayor of Montevideo.

Following the UCLG World Congress and World Summit of Local and Regional Leaders held in Daejeon in October 2022, the UCLG leadership came to an agreement to develop a collegial Presidency, with a rotating President for a mandate of one year, as follows:

Carolina Cosse, Mayor of Montevideo, year 1: from the Daejeon Congress to the end of 2023.

Uğur Ibrahim Altay, Mayor of Konya, year 2: end of 2023-end of 2024. 

Jan Van Zanen, Mayor of The Hague, President of the Association of Netherlands Municipalities (VNG), year 3: end of 2024-end of 2025.

Lee Jang-Woo, Mayor of Daejeon, year 4: from the end of 2025 to the 8th UCLG Congress at the end of 2026.

The Co-Presidency is composed of:

Johnny Araya, Mayor of San José

Altay Kulginov, Mayor of Astana.

Li Mingyuan, Mayor of Xi’an.

Bekhe Stofile, President of the South African Local Government Association (SALGA).

Berry Vrbanovic, Mayor of Kitchener.

Fatimetou Abdel Malick, President of Nouakchott Region, as chair of the UCLG Standing Committee on Gender Equality. 

The Treasury is composed of Asmaa Rhlalou, Mayor of Rabat,.

Special Representation

The UCLG World Congress appointed mayors and local leaders to represent the World Organization, as follows:

Ambassadors of the Pact for the Future

Ada Colau, Mayor of Barcelona, as Ambassador for the Future of People.

Anne Hidalgo, Mayor of Paris, as Ambassador for the Future of the Planet.

Yücel Yilmaz, Mayor of Balikesir, as Ambassador for the Future of Government.

Special Envoys

Carola Gunnarsson, Vice-President of the Swedish Association of Local Authorities and Regions (SALAR) as Special Envoy for Freedom, Solidarity and Fighting Violence against Local Political Leaders.

Carlos Martínez, Mayor of Soria as Special Envoy for the New Urban Agenda.

Mohamed Sefiani, Mayor of Chefchaouen, as the Special Envoy for Food Systems. 



The Vice-Presidency counts with: 

Oumarou Dogari Moumouni, Mayor of Niamey, as Vice-President for Africa.

Ashok Kumar Byanju Shrestha, Mayor of Dhulikhel and President of the Municipal Association of Nepal, as Vice-President for ASPAC.

Aysen Nikolaev, Head of the Republic of Sakha, as Vice-President for Eurasia.

Carola Gunnarsson, Vice-President of the Swedish Association of Local Authorities and Regions (SALAR), as Vice-President for Europe.

Yücel Yilmaz, Mayor of Balikesir, as Vice-President for Middle East and West Asia.

Fernando Gray, Mayor of Esteban Echeverria, as Vice-President for Latin America.

Taneen Rudyk, Municipal Councillor of Vegreville and President of the Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM), as Vice-President for North America.

Claudia López, Mayor of Bogotá, as Vice-President for Metropolis.

Pablo Jurado, President of the Consortium of Provincial Autonomous Governments from Ecuador (CONGOPE), as Vice-President for the Forum of Regions.