Announcement: Winners of the International Award UCLG - MEXICO City - Culture 21

International Award UCLG - MEXICO City - Culture 21

The objective of the "International Award UCLG - MEXICO City - Culture 21" is to recognise leading cities and people that have distinguished themselves through their contribution to culture as a dimension of sustainable development. The Award is expected to contribute to the dissemination and implementation of the Agenda 21 for culture.

On the 31st of May 2014, the Jury composed of Ing. Cuauhtémoc Cárdenas, Gonzalo Carámbula, Dr Danielle Cliche, Catherine Cullen, and Dr Alicia Ziccardi held its last meeting to deliberate on the designation of a winning city among the 56 candidates, as well as a winning personality. The results went public on 19th June 2014.

  • The city of Belo Horizonte and its “Arena de Cultura – Artistic and Cultural Training Programme” is the winner of the Award.
  • The cities of Hannover and Ouagadougou have received a special mention.
  • The Jury decided that the “Individual Award” should be shared ex-aequo by Manuel Castells and Farida Shaheed.

Additional information can be found in this announcement.

For more information, the Jury of the “International Award UCLG - MEXICO City Culture 21” has produced a detailed report. This report presents the winners and recognizes the contributions of each city that submitted a proposal for the Award.