Awards Ceremony of the "International Award UCLG - MEXICO City - Culture21"

The Awards Ceremony of the first edition of the "International Award UCLG - MEXICO City - Culture21" will take place on 12th November 2014. The events are hosted by Mexico City (Mexico). The aim of this International Award is to recognize leading cities and people that have distinguished themselves through their contribution to culture as a dimension of sustainable development. The initiative proves the leadership of Mexico City in the area of culture and sustainable development and the commitment of UCLG in the recognition of culture as a fundamental dimension in building sustainable cities.

The first edition of the "International Award UCLG - MEXICO City - Culture21" was set in 2013 and 2014 under the leadership of the Mayor of Mexico City, Dr. Miguel Ángel Mancera Espinosa, and the President of UCLG and Mayor of Istanbul, Dr. Kadir Topbaş.

The Award features two categories: “City” and “Personality”. The list of candidate cities is available through this map.

The winners of the Award first edition are:

  • In the category “City”, the project “Arena da Cultura – Cultural and Artistic Training Programme” presented by the City of Belo Horizonte (Minas Girais, Brazil).
  • In the category “Personality”, the jury decided to name two winners ex-aequo: Manuel Castells and Farida Shaheed.

The jury also attributed two special mentions to the projects presented by the cities of Hannover (Lower Saxony, Germany) and Ouagadougou (Burkina Faso), and identified 29 projects as “good practices” of the implementation of Agenda 21 for culture.

The Award Ceremony is open to the participation of cities, local governments, experts and partners. It will take place in the framework of the Ibero-American Forum of Local Governments. A detailed programme of the Award Ceremony of the International Award UCLG – MEXICO City – Culture 21” is now available.

Should you require any additional information, do not hesitate to contact the Secretariat of the Committee: [email protected].